Address : Haeandong-ro 466beon-gil, Bureun-myeon, Ganghwa-gun, Incheon
Mar-May & Sep-October 09:00-18:00
Closed N/A (Open all year round)
Adults: Individual 1,100 won / Group 1,000 won
Children & Youths: Individual 700 won / Group 600 won
Integrated Tickets (5 Sites*)
Adults: Individual 2,700 won / Group 2,000 won
Children & Youths: Individual 1,700 won / Group 1,300 won
Facilities for the Handicapped Reserved parking spaces, restrooms
From Seoul to Ganghwa
1) Sinchon Station (Seoul Subway Line 2), Exit 4.
Go straight 260m to arrive at the bus stop in front of Artreon.
From the bus stop, take Bus 3000 to Ganghwa Bus Terminal.
2) Yeongdeungpo Station (Seoul Subway Line 1).
Across from Shinsegae Department Store, take Bus 88 to Ganghwa Terminal.
From Ganghwa Terminal, take the tour bus and get off at Gwangseongbo Fortress.
* Tour Bus Schedule: 08:30, 09:30, 10:30, 11:30, 12:50, 13:50, 14:50, 16:00, 17:00, 18:00, 19:10
Gwangseongbo Fortress’s outer wall from the Goryeo era was mended in 1618. The fortress was built in 1656 and the outpost was constructed in 1679. It was completely remodeled into a masonry castle with gates in 1745. During Sinmiyangyo (the American invasion in 1871), Gwangseongbo was the fiercest battle ground in Ganghwa. On April 24, 1871, a fleet with 1,230 American naval forces led by Rear Admiral John Rodgers landed on Ganghwado Island to demand the opening of Korea’s ports and commerce. The armed forces attacked Chojijin Fortress and Deokjinjin Camp, then marched to Gwangseongbo Fortress, where they engaged in close combat with the warriors of Joseon. Although General Eo Jae-yeon and the other warriors were poorly equipped with far inferior weapons, they bravely fought to the death against the invading forces.
The battlefield ruins of the fortress and the gate towers such as Anhaeru, Gwangseongdon, Sondolmokdon, and Yongdudon were repaired in 1977. The twin tombs of General Eo Jae-Yeon and his brother Eo Jae-seon, along with the anonymous tombs of warriors who died on the battlefield were also honorably arranged at the same time. Furthermore, a stone monument commemorating the restoration of Ganghwa Battlefield was erected on Yongdudondae Post.
In 1988, an extensive rest area was created toward the shore for visitors’ convenience. Gwangseongbo Fortress is presently designated as Historical Relic No. 227. A religious service known as Gwangseongje is held annually to commemorate the patriotic spirits of General Eo Jae-yeon and other unnamed warriors. This service takes place at 11 a.m. on every April 24th of the lunar calendar.
Gallery *Click images to enlarge
Ganghwa Island is an island in the estuary of the Han River, on the west coast of South Korea. Ganghwa Island is separated from Gimpo, on the mainland, by a narrow channel, which is spanned by two bridges. The main channel of the Han River separates the island from Gaeseong in North Korea.
About 65,500 people live on the island. With an area of 302.4 km2 (116.8 sq mi), it constitutes most of Ganghwa County, a division of Incheon Municipality. About half of the island’s population reside in Ganghwa-eup, Ganghwa Town, in the northeastern part of the island. The island’s highest point is Mani-san, 469 m (1,539 ft) above sea level. The island measures 28 kilometres (17 mi) long and 22 kilometres (14 mi) wide, and is the 4th largest island in South Korea.
Historically, it is significant as being the location of separate punitive incursions; by the French in 1866, the United States in 1871, and the Japanese in 1875 when Korea was emerging from isolation.