About Korea(A)

The National Flag of Korea
The Korean flag (태극기) is called “Taegeukgi” in Korean. Its design symbolizes the principles of the yin and yang in Oriental philosophy. The circle in the center of the Korean flag is divided into two equal parts. The upper red section represents the proactive cosmic forces of the yang. Conversely, the lower blue section represents the responsive cosmic forces of the yin. The two forces together embody the concepts of continual movement, balance and harmony that characterize the sphere of infinity. The circle is surrounded by four trigrams, one in each corner. Each trigram symbolizes one of the four universal elements: heaven (), earth (272759_1_3.gif), fire (272759_1_4.gif), and water (272759_1_5.gif).
The National Flower of Korea
The national flower of Korea is the mugunghwa (무궁화), rose of sharon. Every year from July to October, a profusion of mugunghwa blossoms graces the entire country. Unlike most flowers, the mugunghwa is remarkably tenacious and able to withstand both blight and insects. The flower’s symbolic significance stems from the Korean word mugung, meaning immortality. This word accurately reflects the enduring nature of Korean culture, and the determination and perseverance of the Korean people.
The National Anthem of Korea
Korea’s national anthem is “Aegukga,” which means “Love the Country.” In 1896, the Dongnip Sinmun (Independence News) published various versions of lyrics for this song. It is not known exactly what music they were sung to in the early days. Records show that a Western-style military band was formed during the time of the Dae-han Empire (1897-1910) and that the “Dae-han Empire Aegukga” was composed in 1902 and played at important national functions.
The original words of Aegukga appeared in written form around 1907 to inculcate allegiance to the nation and foster the spirit of independence as the country faced threats of foreign annexation. Over the years, the lyrics went through several versions until they were adopted as the national anthem in the present form in 1948.
Before the birth of the Republic
Map of KoreaThe Korean Peninsula is located in North-East Asia. It is bordered by the Amnok River (Yalu River) to the northwest, separating Korea from China, and the Duman River (Tumen River) to the northeast which separates Korea from both China and Russia. The country itself is flanked by the Yellow Sea to its west and the East Sea to the east. There are several notable islands that surround the peninsula including Jejudo, Ulleungdo and Dokdo.The Korean peninsula is roughly 1,030 km (612 miles) long and 175 km (105 miles) wide at its narrowest point. Korea’s total land area is 100,033 sq km, and it has a population of 49.8 million people (2011).Because of its unique geographical location, Korea is a very valuable piece of land and an international hub of Asia.Geographical Make-up  

Mountains cover 70% of Korea’s land mass, making it one of the most mountainous regions in the world. The lifting and folding of Korea’s granite and limestone base create a breathtaking landscape of scenic hills and valleys. The mountain range that stretches along the length of the east coast falls steeply into the East Sea, while along the southern and western coasts, the mountains descend gradually to the coastal plains that produce the bulk of Korea’s agricultural crops, especially rice.



Location The Korean Peninsula is located in the northeast region of the Asian continent. The Korean territory consists of a peninsula that juts out to the southeast and some 3,200 islands. It borders China and Russia to the north and faces Japan across the Straits of Korea to the southeast.Geographical coordinates
Korea is located between the latitudes of 33 and 43 degrees north and the longitudes of 124 and 132 degrees east. The east longitude of 127 degrees and 30 minutes and the north latitude of 38 degrees cross the middle of the peninsula.TerritoryThe Korean Constitution declares the territory of the Republic of Korea consists of the Korean Peninsula and its adjacent islands.Area
Total territorial area: 222,300km² Area of South Korea: 99,600km² (45% of the total area)asia
Korean LanguageThe official language of Korea is Korean. The Korean language is defined as “a language used mainly around the Korean Peninsula by the Korean people.” At present the Korean language is used by roughly 70 million people in both South and North Koreas and about 3.5 million ethnic Koreans living overseas.Lineage of the Korean language
Money & Creditcard The won is the unit of currency in South Korea.There are four kinds of bills; 50,000won, 10,000won, 5,000won and 1,000won, and four kinds of coins; 500won, 100won, 50won and 10won.You can exchange your money into Korean won at authorized currency exchange booths which are mainly in all the main tourist spots as well as banks, airports, hotels and shopping malls
【 coins 】
>500 won, 100 won, 10 won and 50 won.
(Clockwise from top)
【 bills 】
money50000.jpg money10000.jpg
or more info click here

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *