Free Tours for Chuncheon TKD 2017

 

Tour Reservation
Nation
Leader’s name Group name
E-mail address
Phone Number
Tour Course No. of People
Tour Date
(Check the date you want to reserve) July
2  Sun 3  Mon 4  Tue 5  Thu 6  Fri 7  Sat

Please fill out this tour reservation form

Tour Program

 

DT-01 Half Day Free-Tour of Nami Island.

Jul.2 – Jul.7  09:00-13:00.  Based on First reserves, first served

Conditions – private chartered Bus, English Speaking Guide, All Admission, Toll and Parking Fee

Itinerary  

Hoban Gymn. – Nami Island / Boat – Tour – Kim Yoo Jung House of Literature –Myeongdong Street – Hoban Gymn.

Description

Namiseom Island
was formed as a result of the construction of the Cheongpyeong Dam. It is a half moon shaped (462,809㎡) isle, and on it is the grave of General Nami, who led a great victory against the rebels in the 13th year of the 7th king of the Joseon Dynasty, King Sejo (reign 1455 ~ 1468).
Namiseom Island is 63 km away from Seoul in the direction of Chuncheon, and is famous for its beautiful tree lined roads. The island is 30 minutes away from Chuncheon and an hour away from suburbs of Seoul. Since it is not far from Seoul, many couples and families come to visit.
A special feature of Namiseom Island is that there are no telephone poles. This is because all electric wires were built underground to keep the natural feeling of the landscape. The complex is 553,560 square yards with chestnut trees and poplar trees around the isle.

There is also a theme park with merry-go-rounds, a shooting range, roller skating rink, and there are lodging facilities such as resort villas and bungalows.


Kim You-Jeong House of Literature

Known as one of Korea’s leading short story novelists, Kim Yu-jeong (1908~1937) was born in Sille Village in Sindong-myeong, Chuncheon. A restoration of his birth house, the Kim Yu-jeong House of Literature is part of an effort to turn the whole village into a literature village, commemorating the novelist. The house has an exhibition hall, a walking path, and a hiking trail.
Kim Yu-jeong spent a great deal of his life in Seoul and returned to his hometown in 1931 at the age of 23. He published his first novel ‘Sangol Nageune (The Wanderer)’ followed by numerous rural-based novels such as ‘Dongbaekkkot (The Camellias)’ and ‘Bom bom (Spring)’

DT-02  Half Day Free-Tour of Cheongpyeongsa Temple

Jul.2 – Jul.7  13:00-17:00.  Based on First reserves, first served

Conditions – private chartered Bus, English Speaking Guide, All Admission, Toll and Parking Fee

Itinerary Hoban Gymn. – Cheongpyeongsa Temple – Makkuksu Museum – Myeongdong Street – Hoban Gymn.

Description:

Cheongpyeong Temple
became more widely known with the opening of Soyang Dam and Waterway in 1973. A thirty-minutes walk from the dock, the temple stands on the southern ridge of Obongsan Mountain. It was first built in 973, during the reign of King Gwangjong (949-975) of the Goryeo Dynasty. It had been closed and opened from time to time, but still remains open today.

During the Korean War, Gugwangjeon and Saseongjeon of the temple were damaged, but the Cheongpyeongsa Revolving Door (Treasure No.164), which symbolizes the transmigration of Souls, and Geukrakbojeon remains today. Near Cheongpyeongsa Temple is Cheongpyeongsa Valley, which is known for its clean water and Guseong Waterfall, known to make nine different sounds.

 

Soyang Dam

Built in October 1973, Soyang Dam is Asia’s largest and the world’s fourth largest rock-fill dam. It stands 123m high and 530m long, and can generate 200,000kW/h of electricity. It serves multiple purposes including flood control, hydroelectric power generation, irrigation, and fishing. It holds 29 million tons of water, which has become Soyangho Lake, Korea’s largest man-made lake. Spanning a large area that borders the Gangwon-do cities and districts of Chuncheon, Hongcheon, Yanggu and Inje, the lake is often referred to as an “inland sea”. Passenger ferries bound for Yanggu and Inje run along the 60㎞-long water route that leads to Seoraksan Mountain.

 

Myeongdong Street
All Participants can use and enjoy Onnuri Gift Coupon for payment at site as value amount KRW5,000 that sponsored by Korea Tourism Organization

This popular street is in the heart of downtown Chuncheon. Fast-food restaurants, movie theaters, and nightclubs all pack the streets of this hip area. This street was originally known as Joyang-dong Street. The current name, Myeong-dong Street, comes from Seoul’s hippest shopping district, Myeong-dong. The famous food street, with many tasty Dakgalbi restaurants is located right behind this shopping street. Jungang Market and Chuncheon’s underground shopping district are two of the most popular places here. The Jungang Market dates back to 1962 and quickly became the biggest general market around, with items ranging from Korea’s traditional garb of the hanbok to clothing for middle-aged people. The underground market area has plenty of places to eat and has shops selling clothing, handbags, shoes, and accessories. With around 300 shops, this market area is much larger and livelier than Myeong-dong Street.

DT-03 Half Day Non-Free Tour of Canoeing and Mulle-gil Sky Walking

Jul.2 – Jul.7  13:00-17:00. USD10P/P Based on First reserves, first served

Conditions – private chartered Bus, English Speaking Guide, All Admission, Toll and Parking Fee.

Itinerary

Hoban Gymn. –Uiamho Lake / Training and Canoeing – Mulle-gil Sky Walking – Hoban Gymn.

Description: The Chuncheon Mulle-gil is a great place to enjoy water sports like canoeing and yachting on a beautiful lake and river. This eco-tourism destination offers visitors a chance to surround themselves in an enchanting natural atmosphere and an opportunity to journey into nature through a refreshing outdoor activity.

 

 

Soyanggang Skywalk is an observatory facilty set up on Uiamho Lake. The walking path, comprised of transparent glass, is 156m long and offers a thrill to tourists as they feel they are walking over the lake.

 


Activity Information
– Visitors must put on shoe covers before entering the skywalk. In addition, shoes with high heels must be changed for slippers.
– Hiking sticks are prohibited to avoid damaging the glass.
– Pets, bicycles, and inline skates not allowed
– No food or drinks allowed
– Persons needing a wheelchair must use the designated wheelchair prepared in the management office.

 

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *